York University

York University

York University, located in Toronto, Ontario, is helping shape the global thinkers and thinking that will define tomorrow. Our unwavering commitment to excellence reflects a rich diversity of perspectives and a strong sense of social responsibility that set us apart.

As an internationally recognized research university, York’s 11 faculties and 27 research centres have well-established partnerships with over 280 leading universities worldwide. Located in Toronto, York is the third-largest university in Canada with a strong community of 55,000 students, 7,000 faculty and administrative staff and more than 275,000 alumni.

We recognize that many Indigenous Nations have longstanding relationships with the territories that York University campuses are located on that precede the establishment of the University.

We acknowledge our presence on the traditional territory of many Indigenous Nations. The area known as Tkaronto has been taken care of by the Anishinabek Nation, the Haudenosaunee Confederacy and the Huron-Wendat. It is now home to many First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities. We acknowledge the current treaty holders, the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. This territory is a subject of the Dish with One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant, an agreement to peaceably share and care for the Great Lakes region.

Read more about York University.

View the York University virtual tour video.

The Ontario Native Education Counselling Association also offers videos that provide virtual tours of postsecondary institutions for First Nations, Inuit and Métis students.

Top of Page

Back to Top